Ordinance 2691 N.C.S. 08/05/2019
2010 - 2019
Ordinance 2691 N.C.S. 08/05/2019
2/10/2020 12:36:49 PM
8/7/2019 5:42:42 PM
City of Petaluma
City Council Ordinance
Establishing Minimum Wages to be Paid by Employers in the City of Petaluma.
P* = Retain paper document and store in alternate format
There are no annotations on this page.
Document management portal powered by Laserfiche WebLink 9 © 1998-2015
All rights reserved.
Pages to print
Enter page numbers and/or page ranges separated by commas. For example, 1,3,5-12.
After downloading, print the document using a PDF reader (e.g. Adobe Reader).
View plain text
1 <br />2 <br />3 <br />4 <br />5 <br />6 <br />7 <br />EFFECTIVE DATE <br />OF ORDINANCE <br />September 5, 2019 <br />Introduced by <br />Mike Healy <br />ORDINANCE NO. 2691 N.C.S. <br />Seconded by <br />Dave King <br />AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PETALUMA <br />ESTABLISHING MINIMUM WAGES TO BE PAID BY EMPLOYERS IN THE CITY OF PETALUMA <br />WHEREAS, the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. Section 201 and following, ("FLSA") <br />establishes a national minimum wage, which was last set effective July 25, 2009 at $7.25 per hour, <br />which amount remains the federal minimum wage currently in effect pursuant to Section 206 of the <br />FLSA; and <br />WHEREAS, Section 218 of the FLSA expressly permits state and municipal governments to set <br />minimum wages that are higher than the federal minimum wage; and <br />WHEREAS, California has exercised the authority granted by Section 218 of the FLSA and <br />adopted a state-wide minimum wage, currently set at $12 per hour for employers with 26 or more <br />employees, and $11 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees, pursuant to Labor Code <br />Section 1182.12; and <br />WHEREAS, Labor Code Section 1182.12 provides that California minimum wages for <br />employers with 26 or more employees will increase to $13 per hour on January 1, 2020, to $14 per <br />hour on January 1, 2021, and to $15 per hour on January 2022, and that minimum wages for <br />employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $12 per hour on January 1 2020, to $13 per <br />hour on January 1, 2021; to $14 per hour on January 1, 2022, and to $15 per hour on January 1, 2023; <br />and <br />WHEREAS, Labor Code Section 1182.12 provides that beginning in August, 2023, and each <br />August thereafter, the Director of Finance shall calculate an adjusted minimum wage increasing the <br />minimum wage established in Section 1182.12 by 3.5 percent or the change in CPI as specified, <br />whichever adjustment is less, rounded up to the nearest ten cents, to take effect the following <br />January 1; except that, if the change in CPI is negative, the minimum wage is to remain unchanged <br />the following January; and <br />WHEREAS, Labor Code Section 1205(b) expressly permits local agencies to exercise their <br />police power to establish local minimum wages that are higher than the state minimum wage; and <br />WHEREAS, Labor Code Section 1 197 provides that the minimum wage fixed by the Labor <br />Commission or by any applicable state or local law is the minimum wage to be paid to employees, <br />and the payment of a lower wage than the applicable minimum wage is unlawful; and <br />Ordinance No. 2691 N.C.S. <br />Page 1 <br />
The URL can be used to link to this page
Your browser does not support the video tag.